National Jeweler Network

Market Developments

JVC elects board members, officers during event

January 15, 2014

JVC CEO and President Cecilia Gardner, left, with Brad Brooks-Rubin, who received the Stanley Schechter Award at JVC’s annual luncheon Friday for his work while he was employed by the U.S. State Department.

New York--The Jewelers’ Vigilance Committee elected a number of new board members and officers at its annual luncheon event Friday.

JVC also presented the Stanley Schechter Award to Brad Brooks-Rubin for his work as the Special Advisor for Conflict Diamonds while he was employed at the U.S. State Department. During his time in this role, Brooks-Rubin traveled to Kimberley Process meetings around the globe as a representative for the United States’ interests in the KP.

He is now working as counsel at the law firm of Holland & Hart LLP.

The keynote speaker at the event was former Assistant Secretary of State Jose Fernandez, currently a partner at the law firm of Gibson Dunn in New York City.

The new members elected to the JVC board are as follows:

• Michael Akkaoui, Tanury Industries Inc.
• Lita Asscher, Royal Asscher of America Diamond Inc.
• Robert Bentley, Robert Bentley Company Inc.
• Jeffrey A. Cohen, Citizen Watch Company of America Inc.
• Karen Goracke, Borsheims
• Myriam Gumuchian, Gumuchian Fils Ltd.
• Eddie LeVian, Le Vian Corp.
• Ross Markman, Suberi Brothers Inc.
• Stuart Samuels, Premier
• Peter Webster, Roberto Coin
• Todd Wolleman, Leo Wolleman/Color Craft

The JVC also elected five new officers for the coming term:

• Beryl Raff, Helzberg Diamonds, chairwoman
• Steven P. Kaiser, Kaiser Time, first vice president
• Scott Berg, Lee Michaels Fine Jewelry, second vice president
• Mark Goldberg, Rolex Watch Co., treasurer
• Joel Schechter, Richline Group, corporate secretary