National Jeweler Network

Market Developments

WJA adds element of surprise to annual awards

June 20, 2014

New York--National Jeweler’s Editor-in-Chief Michelle Graff is among the nominees for the Women’s Jewelry Association’s 2014 Awards for Excellence, which will be presented with a twist this year.

Normally, the WJA contacts those who have won prior to the Awards for Excellence dinner, which takes place at Chelsea Piers in New York. This year, however, the WJA has opted to keep the winners names a secret until the big night, the same as the Jewelry Information Center did with the Gem Awards this past January.

“WJA wanted to create more of an element of surprise at our annual gathering,” said WJA President Andrea Hansen. “We also wanted to ensure that all nominees were recognized and acknowledged as ‘winners’ in their own right. It really is an honor just to be nominated.”

The nominees are:
Category I: Design        
Emily Armenta -- Armenta
Heather Moore -- Heather Moore
Monica Rich Kosann -- Monica Rich Kosann

Category II: Manufacturer/Dealer/Supplier        
Aida Fronjian -- True Knots
Chana Regev -- Carelle
Teresa Frye -- Techform
Laurie Watt -- Mayer & Watt

Category IIIa: Retail - 15 doors or more        
Kim Adams -- Reeds
Jan Steck -- Helzberg

Category IIIb: Retail - Fewer than 15 doors        
Stacy Sullivan -- Levy Jewelers
Sara and Rachel Read -- Lee Read Jewelers
Cathy Calhoun -- Calhoun Jewelers

Category IIIc: Non-Traditional Retail        
Amy Jain/Daniella Yacobovsky -- BaubleBar
Jennifer Peck -- Amazon
Hillary Lambert -- Sundance
Nadine McCarthy Kahane -- Stone and Strand

Category IV: Sales        
Jennifer Shanker -- MUSE Showroom
Amy Jackson -- Fragments
Rachel Jackson -- The Knot

Category V: Marketing & Communications        
Fran Pennella -- Benali Consulting
Randi Molofsky -- Gemfields
Ginnina D'Orazio -- D’Orazio & Associates

Category VI: Editorial Media  
Michelle Graff -- National Jeweler
Severine Ferrari -- Engagement 101
Monica Stephenson -- iDazzle
Karla Martinez de Sales -- W Magazine

Category VII: Special Services        
Desiree Hansen -- JCK
Marlene Richey -- Marlene Richey
Catherine Sproule -- Responsible Jewellery Council

Category VIII: Watches        
Rosanna Doherty -- Cartier
Michelle Peranteau -- Baume & Mercier
Annie Sommer -- Breitling

The 2014 Awards for Excellence gala, which also includes a silent raffle and auction to raise money for scholarships and grants for women in the jewelry industry, is scheduled for Monday, July 28 at Pier 60 at Chelsea Piers, which is also the second day of the JA New York Summer show.

As previously announced, in addition to presenting the Awards for Excellence, the WJA will honor American Gem Society Executive Director and CEO Ruth Batson and Jewelers of America CEO Dave Bonaparte with lifetime achievement awards, while the Corporate Award will go to Richline Group.

RELATED CONTENT: WJA announces 2014 Hall of Fame honorees

The WJA has held its Awards for Excellence gala since 1984. It brings together industry leaders to honor the best and raises money for scholarship and grants.

The WJA awarded more than $30,000 in grants in 2013, a new record for the association as it marked its 30th anniversary.

To purchase tickets or sponsorships visit