By Brecken Branstrator
This ring designed by Leon Mege, featuring Paraiba tourmaline and diamonds made in platinum, won both Best in Show and top honors in the classical category at the 2015 AGTA Spectrum Awards.Dallas--A platinum ring featuring a Paraiba tourmaline accented with French-cut diamonds by designer Leon Mege took home both the Best of Show award and top honors in the classical category at the American Gem Trade Association’s annual Spectrum Design competition.

Judging for the design competition, which is in its 31st year, took place in New York on Saturday and Sunday. This year’s judges were: Jerrold Green of Reginald C. Miller; Myriam Gumuchian of Gumuchian; Joseph Mardkha of ColorMasters; Tim McClelland of McTiegue & McClellan; Larry Pelzel of Neiman Marcus; and Jeffrey Post of the Smithsonian Institution.  

This year’s awards will be presented during the 2015 AGTA GemFair Tucson, which is scheduled for Feb. 3 to 8. Winning entries will be displayed during the show and AGTA Spectrum Awards recipients will be recognized during the AGTA’s gala.

A complete list of the winners of the 2015 Spectrum Awards are as follows.

Best of Category
Best of Show--Leon Mege, Leon Mege, Inc.
Best Use of Color--Paula Crevoshay, Crevoshay
Best Use of Platinum and Color--Deirdre Featherstone, Featherstone Design
Best Use of Pearls--Naomi Sarna, Naomi Sarna Designs
Fashion Forward--Ion Ionescu, Ionescu Design, Inc.

Bridal Wear
Frist Place--Deirdre Featherstone, Featherstone Design
Second Place and Manufacturing Honors--Laurence Bruyninckx, Laurence Bruyninckx
Third Place and Platinum Honors--Michael Endlich, Pave Fine Jewelry
Entry Platinum Innovation--Susan Drake, Spectrum Art & Jewelry
Gem Diva Award--Suzanne Kalandjian, Suzanne Kalan
Honorable Mention--Bella Campbell, Campbellian

Business/ Day Wear
First Place--Jennifer Rabe Morin, Gregore Joailliers
Second Place and Gem Diva Award--Elizabeth Garvin, Elizabeth Garvin Fine
Third Place--Heath London, Heath London Jewelry
Platinum Honors--Phillip Dismuke, Jewelsmith
Manufacturing Honors--Ryan Roberts, Ryan Roberts Ltd.

First Place--Leon Mege, Leon Mege Inc.
Second Place--Heena Chheda, Real Gems Inc.
Third Place--Evelyn Huang, China Art & Fine Jewelry Inc.
Platinum Honors--Rex McClure, Sohn & McClure Jewelers
Entry Platinum Innovation--Mimi Favre, Mimi Favre Studio
Gem Diva Award--Caroline Chartuni, Caroline C.
Manufacturing Honors--Deirdre Featherstone, Featherstone Design


Evening Wear
First Place and Gem Diva Award--Maria Canale, Suna Bros. Inc.
Second Place--Erica Courtney, Erica Courtney Inc.
Third Place--Gil, Gil International
Platinum Honors--Cara Becker Lichtenstein, My Blue Heaven
Manufacturing Honors--Linda Quinn, Linda Quinn Designs
Honorable Mention--Wendy Brandes, Wendy Brandes Jewelry

Men’s Wear
First Place--Dawn Muscio, D. Muscio Fine Jewelry Studio
Second Place--Mark Schneider, Mark Schneider Design
Third Place--Micheal Kanners, Michael Kanners
Platinum Honors--Naomi Sarna, Naomi Sarna Designs
Honorable Mention--William Travis, William Travis Jewelry

And the winners for the Cutting Edge Awards are as follows.

Classic Cut Gemstones 
First Place--Allen Kleiman, A. Kleiman & Co.
Second Place--Joseph Ambalu, Amba Gem Corp.
Third Place--Joseph Ambalu, Amba Gem Corp.
Honorable Mention--Alan Hackman, Intercolor

All Other Faceted
First Place--Hemant Phophaliya, AG Color Inc.
Second Place--Mikola Kukharuk, Nomad’s
Third Place--Mikola Kukharuk, Nomad’s
Honorable Mention--Mikola Kukharuk, Nomad’s

Phenomenal Gemstones
First Place-Robert Shapiro, Robert Shapiro

Pairs and Suites
First Place--Dalan Hargrave, Dust Devil Mining
Second Place--Mikola Kukharuk, Nomad’s
Third Place--Hemant Phophaliya, A G Color, Inc.
Honorable Mention--Allen Kleiman, A. Kleiman & Co.

Innovative Faceting
First Place--John Dyer, John Dyer & Co.
Second Place--John Dyer, John Dyer & Co.
Third Place--John Dyer, John Dyer & Co.

First Place--Naomi Sarna, Naomi Sarna Designs
Second Place--Bernie Benavidez, Master Jewelers
Third Place--Darryl Alexander, Nirinjan

Objects of Art
First Place--Robyn Dufty, DuftyWeis Opals, Inc.
Second Place--Darryl Alexander, Somewhere In The Rainbow
Third Place--Alishan Halebian, Alishan
Honorable Mention--Adam Ramseyer, Ramstar Designs

Get the Daily News >
National Jeweler

Fine Jewelry Industry News

Since 1906, National Jeweler has been the must-read news source for smart jewelry professionals--jewelry retailers, designers, buyers, manufacturers, and suppliers. From market analysis to emerging jewelry trends, we cover the important industry topics vital to the everyday success of jewelry professionals worldwide. National Jeweler delivers the most urgent jewelry news necessary for running your day-to-day jewelry business here, and via our daily e-newsletter, website and other specialty publications, such as "The State of the Majors." National Jeweler is published by Jewelers of America, the leading nonprofit jewelry association in the United States.