Dallas—The American Gem Trade Association announced that Ruben Bindra of B & B Fine Gems has been elected president of its board of directors.

This will be Bindra’s second time serving in the position; he also was president from 2013 to 2015. He succeeds Jeffrey Bilgore.

In addition, Jeff Mason of Mason-Kay Inc. has been re-elected as a director, and Robert Bentley of Robert Bentley Company Inc. and Jaimeen Shah of Prima Gems USA have been newly elected to the board.

Bindra, Mason, Bentley and Shah will take office in February and serve three-year terms.

The following AGTA members will continue to serve on the board: Pramod Agrawal, Bruce Bridges, Charles Carmona, Kimberly Collins, Jonathan Gad, Bill Heher, Gina Latendresse, David Nassi, Hemant Phophaliya, Shekhar Shah and Simon Watt.

Avi Raz and Kusam Malhotra are stepping down from their positions as directors.

The AGTA’s board of directors holds elections on a rotating cycle to guarantee coherence of its long-term plans.

The nominating committee was chaired by Bindra, and the committee members were John Bachman, Benjamin Hackman, Hemant Phophaliya and Ray Zajicek.

The new board members will be introduced at the AGTA membership meeting on Feb. 5, held during the AGTA GemFair Tucson show.

Get the Daily News >

Copyright © 2020 National Jeweler. All Rights Reserved.