The addition of two new categories, Innovative and Haute Couture, brought the total number of judged categories in the Couture Design Awards to 12.Las Vegas--The judges in this year’s Couture Design Awards had an unenviable, but not undesirable, task: they had to choose the winners among a field of amazing entries in a contest that grew by two categories since last year.

Speaking at the start of the Couture Design Awards ceremony, held Saturday night in Las Vegas, show Director Gannon Brousseau remarked on the quality of this year’s entries and expressed his admiration for the artistry of the designers who comprise Couture.

“From the conception of an idea to a finished work of art, your creative process is what distinguishes you as true artists. And your presence at Couture is what makes this show like no other in the world,” he said.

In the end, the five judges--Alex Sepkus, Amanda Weiner of Harper’s Bazaar, Candy Udell, Joanne Teichman of Ylang 23 and jewelry historian Vivienne Becker--narrowed the field of hundreds to just 36 designs, a winner and first and second runner-up in each of the 12 categories. In addition, retailers picked their favorites, casting ballots throughout the show for the People’s Choice award.

While there were two designers--Tomasz Donocik, who is part of Stephen Webster’s Rock Vault, and Alp Sagnak of Atelier Minyon--who took home two awards apiece last year, no one designer won more than one category this year.

Sagnak’s silver snake collar necklace, however, did notch him second runner-up in the Haute Couture category, which was a new category this year along with Innovative. The New York-based designer was a runner-up for the People’s Choice Award as well.

RELATED CONTENT: Couture innovates with two new design awards

Webster also had a solid year, winning first runner-up in the Colored Gems Above $20,000 category and having a design by another one of his Rock Vault designers, Fernando Jorge, selected as a winner.

Following presentation of the awards on Saturday night, the Couture community honored two other individuals, one a recently deceased designer and the other a retailer.

Brousseau led the crowd in a moment of silence for the late Robin Roteiner, who died at his home in New York City on May 20.

The evening then concluded with the emotional presentation of this year’s Human Spirit Award to Jim Rosenheim, owner of Tiny Jewel Box in Washington, D.C., by his son, Matthew.

Following a video featuring Jeff Feero from Alex Sepkus, David Yurman and Rod Kosan speaking about Rosenheim as a store owner, the retailer’s son said, “I speak for myself when I say that you are a great father, a dedicated grandfather, and an amazing and generous mentor. I’ve always looked up to you as a business person and as a human being, and your love and dedication to my mom is a constant source of inspiration to me.”

The complete list of the finalists and winners of the 2014 Couture Design Awards is as follows.

Winner: Finn
First runner-up: Furrer Jacot
Second runner-up: Mark Patterson

Colored Gems Above $20,000
Winner: Nam Cho
First runner up: Stephen Webster
Second runner up: Miseno

Colored Gems Below $20,000
Winner: Fernando Jorge
First runner-up: Mattioli
Second runner-up: Annie Fensterstock

Diamonds Above $20,000
Winner: Qayten
First runner-up: Paolo Castagli
Second runner-up: Hearts on Fire

Diamonds Below $20,000
Winner: Suzanne Kalan
First runner-up: AS29
Second runner-up: Casato

Winner: Yossi Harari
First runner-up: Annamaria Camilli Gioielli
Second runner-up: Elena Votsi

Haute Couture
Winner: Giovanni Ferraris
First runner-up: Shaun Leane
Second runner-up: Atelier Minyon

Winner: Henrich & Denzel
First runner-up: Roberto Demeglio/Sofer
Second runner-up: Jo Hayes Ward

Winner: Yoko by Euro Pearls
First runner-up: Jewelmer
Second runner-up: Sutra

Winner: Cynthia Bach
First runner-up: Steven Kretchmer
Second runner-up: Schaffrath

Winner: Montegrapa Italia
First runner-up: Konstantino
Second runner-up: Aida Bergsen

Winner: Annamaria Camilli Gioielli
First runner-up: Qayten
Second runner-up: Roberto Demeglio/Sofer

People’s Choice
Winner: Magerit
Runners-up: Atelier Tom Munsteiner, Atelier Minyon, Shaun Leane

|Subscribe >
National Jeweler

Fine Jewelry Industry News

Since 1906, National Jeweler has been the must-read news source for smart jewelry professionals--jewelry retailers, designers, buyers, manufacturers, and suppliers. From market analysis to emerging jewelry trends, we cover the important industry topics vital to the everyday success of jewelry professionals worldwide. National Jeweler delivers the most urgent jewelry news necessary for running your day-to-day jewelry business here, and via our daily e-newsletter, website and other specialty publications, such as "The State of the Majors." National Jeweler is published by Jewelers of America, the leading nonprofit jewelry association in the United States.