New York—Jewelers of America announced Thursday that submissions are now being accepted for the 18th annual Gem Awards, which are scheduled to take place Jan. 10, 2020 at Cipriani 42nd Street.

Held annually in New York and organized by JA, the event recognizes companies and individuals whose work raises the visibility of fine jewelry and watches.

Nominations for the 2020 Gem Awards are being accepted in four categories: Jewelry Design, Media Excellence, Retail Excellence and Watch Excellence. Companies and individuals can submit themselves or others for consideration from now through June 28 online at

The GEM Awards committee will review all submissions and select the nominees and/or honorees. After the nominees are announced and supporting materials collected, the committee will vote to select a winner in each of the four categories.

An independent auditing firm tallies the votes but the winners are kept confidential until the Gem Awards ceremony.

The committee will also select a Lifetime Achievement recipient for the 2020 Gem Awards. This award is given to a single honoree and is announced prior to the event.

Chanel’s Olivier Stip is the 2020 Gem Awards committee chair. The committee members are: Randi Udell Alper, London Jewelers; Sarin Bachmann, JCK and Luxury shows; Stephane Barraque, Timeless Distributions; David Bonaparte, Jewelers of America; David Bouffard, Signet Jewelers; Gannon Brousseau, Jewelry Group at Emerald Expositions; Stephanie Evans Greene, Hearts On Fire; Marion Fasel, The Adventurine; Michelle Graff, National Jeweler; Will Kahn, Town & Country; Roberta Naas,; Russell Pagliughi, Marina B.; Matthew Rosenheim, Tiny Jewel Box; and Steven Kaiser, chairman emeritus of Kaiser Time Inc.

For more information about the Gem Awards, visit

Get the Daily News >

Copyright © 2020 National Jeweler. All Rights Reserved.