These were three of the evening’s big winners at the 16th Grand Prix D’Horlogerie de Genève. From left to right: Piaget, Ferdinand Berthoud and Girard-Perregaux.
These were three of the evening’s big winners at the 16th Grand Prix D’Horlogerie de Genève. From left to right: Piaget, Ferdinand Berthoud and Girard-Perregaux.

Geneva--The 16th edition of the annual Grand Prix D’Horlogerie de Genève saw 16 awards given out for watchmaking, with the night’s most prestigious accolade handed to Ferdinand Berthoud.

Berthoud’s Chronomètre Ferdinand Berthoud FB 1 model won the “Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix.

The manual white gold and titanium timepiece, which retails for approximately $212,000 per current exchange rates, is from two limited editions of 50 and was “inspired by the pure, uncluttered design and extreme precision of the marine clocks developed in Paris by the illustrious Swiss watchmaker during the Age of Enlightenment for the French King and the French Navy.”

Piaget and Girard-Perregaux each took home honors in two categories.

Piaget won the Ladies’ Watch Prize for its pink gold Limelight Gala Milanese Bracelet, and the Artistic Crafts Watch Prize for the Protocole XXL “Secrets and Lights” Venice Micro-Mosaic model, which was created “by juxtaposing nearly 5,000 miniscule glass tesserae, which combine to reveal a remarkable view of the Santa Maria Della Salute basilica overlooking the mouth of the Grand Canal.”

Girard-Perregaux won the Ladies High-Mech Watch Prize with the Cat’s Eye Tourbillon with Gold Bridge model, and the Tourbillon Watch Prize for its pink gold La Esmeralda Tourbillon, which was “inspired by the Tourbillon with Three Gold Bridges pocket chronometer that won the gold medal at the Universal Exhibition in Paris in 1889.”

Grönefeld, Montblanc, MB&F, Fabergé, Audemars Piguet, Tudor, Eberhard & Co., Chanel, TAG Heuer and Czapak Genève all won prizes in one category respectively.

Twenty-seven industry experts made up the jury panel. They awarded the Special Jury Prize to The George Daniels Educational Trust.

Czapak Genève was the recipient of the public’s award, which was voted on through the internet and by viewers at various exhibitions where the watches were on display.

See the full list of winners by category below.

“Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix: Ferdinand Berthoud, Chronomètre Ferdinand Berthoud FB 1
Ladies’ Watch Prize: Piaget, Limelight Gala Milanese Bracelet
Ladies’ High-Mech Prize: Girard-Perregaux, Cat's Eye Tourbillon with Gold Bridge
Men’s Watch Prize: Grönefeld, 1941 Remontoire
Chronograph Watch Prize: Montblanc, 1858 Chronograph Tachymeter Limited Edition
Tourbillon Watch Prize: Girard-Perregaux, La Esmeralda Tourbillon
Calendar Watch Prize: MB&F, Legacy Machine Perpetual
Travel Time Watch Prize: Fabergé, Fabergé Visionnaire DTZ
Mechanical Exception Prize: Audemars Piguet, Royal Oak Concept Supersonnerie
“Petite Aiguille” Prize: Tudor, Heritage Black Bay Bronze
Sports Watch Prize: Eberhard & Co, Scafograf 300
Jewellery Watch Prize: Chanel, Secret Watch “Signature Grenat”
Artistic Crafts Watch Prize: Piaget, Protocole XXL “Secrets & Lights” Venice Micro-Mosaic
“Revival” Watch Prize: TAG Heuer, Heuer Monza Chronographe
Special Jury Prize: The George Daniels Educational Trust
Public Prize: Czapek Genève, 33 bis Quai des Bergues

|Subscribe >
National Jeweler

Fine Jewelry Industry News

Since 1906, National Jeweler has been the must-read news source for smart jewelry professionals--jewelry retailers, designers, buyers, manufacturers, and suppliers. From market analysis to emerging jewelry trends, we cover the important industry topics vital to the everyday success of jewelry professionals worldwide. National Jeweler delivers the most urgent jewelry news necessary for running your day-to-day jewelry business here, and via our daily e-newsletter, website and other specialty publications, such as "The State of the Majors." National Jeweler is published by Jewelers of America, the leading nonprofit jewelry association in the United States.